Would You Buy 7-Eleven’s House Wine?

7-Eleven is making and selling its own wine. The convenience-store mega chain is putting out a Chardonnay and a Cabernet Sauvignon under the label Yosemite Road that will retail at most stores for $3.99.

The move comes after corporate realized that wines priced $5 and under are enjoying double-digit sales. We’re guessing that 7-Eleven is trying to capitalize on Trader Joe’s popular Two-Buck Chuck wine.

The Chardonnay is described as “fresh and zesty with notes of apricot,” while the Cab has “juicy plum overtones.” Will you grab a bottle with your Big Gulp?

ALSO: Check out Ian Ritter’s BNET Retail blog about Big 5 Sporting Goods’ recent success.

9 Responses to “Would You Buy 7-Eleven’s House Wine?”


  1. 1 August November 6, 2009 at 8:55 am

    For added campiness, it should be pronounced “Yohsmight”

  2. 2 michelle November 6, 2009 at 9:10 am

    I would certainly try their wine. Why not? 7-11 coffee is delicious. Maybe the wine is too.

  3. 3 Marie November 6, 2009 at 11:02 am

    I would try it too. I wonder what the marketing would be like? Commercials?

  4. 4 James November 6, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Only if its available in stackable cardboard dispensing juggs. I like the fact that they didn’t try to go with fake a classy name.
    But then I should have known, afterall this is the company that came up with “Big Gulp”! I hope the idea works for them. Is Walmart Classico next??

  5. 5 Weed Removal November 6, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    James – well done. You and I agree for once.

    I might be caught pre-gaming with their Chard – its all about getting what I need in one place. Boone’s Farm and MD 20-20 were once the “Wonder Bread” of after school beverages at $1.99 each. Is a $5.00 Foot-Long liter far away?

  6. 7 Bill - Total Team Construction LLC November 10, 2009 at 9:30 am

    I have to admit … would try it once.
    Maybe they can get Warner Bros. Yosemite Sam as their logo/mascot!
    Rootin’ Tootin’ best dang wine under 4 bucks, varmit!
    Hmmmm …

  7. 8 Adam W. November 10, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Wal-Mart is already selling a $2 wine: Oak Leaf. I’ve tried Charles Shaw (2 buck chuck), Crane Lake, and Douglas Hill. None of them are bad, but hardly complex. However, in this economy, I’m drinking them quite a bit! I guess I’m willing to try 7-11’s wine, but $4 sounds kind of steep when you can buy the others for half the price. Kind of ironic, isn’t it!

    • 9 Brandi Leyva November 11, 2009 at 9:04 pm

      A wine lover myself, I learned from tasting several wines over the years price has nothing to do with flavor.Every person has different preferences regarding taste. Some of the most expensive wines I have spit out they were so bad. I say not a bad marketing strategy.


Leave a Reply

Subscribe
Bookmark and Share

Archives

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Ian Ritter on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

RSS GlobeSt.com’s Top Stories

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

